Shortlists for small, medium-sized and large funds of the year have been released.

The top four large funds, top four medium-sized funds and the top four small funds in the past year have all been named in advance of the Conexus Financial Superannuation Awards at the Ivy Ballroom, Sydney on May 20.

The shortlist for the best MySuper defaults, the best member engaged services, the best pension funds and those that have created the most far reaching innovation in the past year were announced on Tuesday. Click here to view them.

Large fund of the year shortlist: AustralianSuper, Sunsuper, Telstra Super and QSuper.

Medium-sized fund of the year shortlist: Auscoal, Energy Super, Equip Super and MTAA.

Small fund of the year shortlist: Aon, Legalsuper, Perpetual and RBF.

The shortlists have been drawn up by a quantitative assessment of each fund by RiceWarner, upon which the nomination committee placed relative weights on the criteria they thought most important. The nomination committee was chosen for its broad range of stakeholders, with consumer groups, industry knowledge and industry analysts all represented.

These are the weightings used for large/medium-sized/small fund of the year; fees 20 per cent, member services (call centre, website, advice, ancillary, KPIs, complaints and surveys) 20 per cent, investment (projections, volatility, flexibility, range and performance) 40 per cent, insurance (features and premiums) 10 per cent, pension (TTR, CGT, frequencies and other) 10 per cent.

The members of the nomination committee were:

Nick Sherry (chair) – senior adviser, superannuation and pensions, Citi; chairman, FNZ; former Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law; former Senator for Tasmania.

Jocelyn Furlan – former chair, Superannuation Complaints Tribunal.

Tom Garcia – chief executive, Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees.

Jenni Mack – chair, Superannuation Consumers Centre.

Michael Rice – chief executive officer, Rice Warner.

Colin Tate – chief executive, Conexus Financial.

David Wright – managing director, Zenith Investment Partners


There are a limited number of seats for the awards ceremony. To book either a table or a single seat click here.


The CIO of the year shortlist will be released next Monday.


Join the discussion