The shortlists for the Conexus Financial large, medium and small Super Funds of the Year have been announced.

The lists have been made available ahead of the Conexus Financial Superannuation Awards at the Crown Palladium, Melbourne, on March 3, 2016.

Large super funds were defined as those that have more than $10 billion in assets; medium super funds as those between $5 billion and $10 billion; and small super funds are those with up to $5 billion.

The shortlists in alphabetical order are:


Large fund of the year shortlist:


Plum Superannuation Fund




Medium fund of the year shortlist:

Care Super

Energy Super

Local Government Super

MTAA Super


Small fund of the year shortlist:

Aon Master Trust

Kinetic Super



The independent awards committee was chosen for its broad range of stakeholders, with consumer groups, industry knowledge and industry analysts all represented. The committee selected those on the shortlists by breaking down a super fund into the key components and placing weightings on what they considered to be the most important criteria. RiceWarner then ran a rigorous quantitative assessment of entrants based on those weightings.

The weightings used for large, medium and small super funds of the year were:

  • Fees, 20 per cent
  • Member services (including calculators, website, advice, ancillary, KPIs and complaints), 20 per cent
  • Investment (including projections, volatility, flexibility, range and performance), 40 per cent
  • Insurance (including features and premiums), 10 per cent
  • Pension (including TTR, CGT, frequencies and other), 10 per cent


The members of the nomination committee were:

  • Nick Sherry – committee chair

Senior adviser, superannuation and pensions, Citi; chairman, FNZ; former Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law; former Senator for Tasmania

  • Tom Garcia

Chief executive, Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees

  • Alan Kirkland

Chief executive officer, CHOICE

  • Sally Loane

Chief executive officer, Financial Services Council

  • Michael Rice

Chief executive officer, Rice Warner

  • The Hon Bernie Ripoll MP

Federal Member for Oxley; Former Shadow Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation; Former Chair of the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Corporations and Financial Services

  • Colin Tate

Chief executive, Conexus Financial


The winners of the Conexus Financial Superannuation Awards 2016 will be unveiled at a special black tie event at Palladium at Crown, Melbourne, on March 3, 2016, which is being sponsored by AIA and Vanguard. You can purchase tables of ten or single tickets by clicking here.

Conexus Financial has drawn on its extensive contacts and resources to involve an esteemed list if VIPs to present the awards and further honour the important contribution the superannuation sector makes to Australian society and the economy.



Join the discussion