These sponsors are Aberdeen Asset Management, which continued active support for FEAL after buying EquitiLink in 2000, AMP Capital, which finances the Fund Executive of the Year Award, Tyndall, which provides a scholarship to the IMCAaffiliated CIMA course, and KPMG, which provides a new Wharton scholarship. KPMG has been with FEAL since inception, providing pro bono auditing, tax advice and services as well as sponsorships and the Wharton scholarship.

Aberdeen provides the FEAL Investment Education Scholarship for two fund executives to attend international CIE conferences. Aberdeen is also a regular event sponsor and CIE provides scholarship opportunities for its domestic conferences. The Fund Executive of the Year Award, launched in 2002 and with the recipients able to choose their international course, has gone to: Rosemary Vilgan (Q Super), Steve Gibbs (ARIA), Neil Cochrane (REST), David Elia (Host- Plus), Paul Watson (MTAA),

Ann Byrne (UniSuper) and Anne-Marie Corboy (HESTA). FEAL’s interest in Wharton was sparked by Vilgan who, as the first winner of the Fund Executive of the Year Award, went to Wharton to study behavioural finance. The 2009 Fund Executive of the Year will be announced at the members’ dinner on August 12.

To read the rest of this article, please subscribe to Investment & Technology magazine.


Join the discussion